GSA Award Winners 2020-21

Last year, the Rutgers Graduate Student Association started a new tradition within our community. A tradition that allows us to showcase the best graduate leaders, advocates, organizations, and programs from the past academic year. We asked for your help in nominating your fellow graduate students, organizations, and faculty/staff allies who have made lasting, positive impacts on our community. Thank you for answering this call with a spirit of enthusiasm.

It is with great pleasure that we announce winners of the Rutgers GSA Awards 2020-2021:

The 2020-2021 Graduate Student Organization of the Year is awarded to:

Italian Graduate Society

The 2020-2021 Graduate Student Organized Program/Event of the Year is awarded to:

Nutrition, Endocrinology & Food Science (NEFS) 2021 Graduate Student Conference

organized by the following GSO’s: Nutritional Sciences, Endocrinology and Animal Biosciences, and Food Science.

The 2020-2021 Excellence in Graduate Leadership is awarded to:

Joint Winners: Ashley Bernstein (Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology) and Jordy Padilla (Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering)

Recognition of Excellence- Che Gossett and Vimmi Surti

The 2020-2021 Excellence in Graduate Service is awarded to:

Kristyn Lambert

Department of Nutritional Sciences

Recognition of Excellence – Aakanksha Deoli

The 2020-2021 Excellence in Graduate Advocacy is awarded to:

Rulaiha Taylor

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Recognition of Excellence: Giuseppe Grispino

The 2020-2021 Outstanding Faculty Support to the Rutgers Graduate Community is awarded to:

Prof. Alessandro Vettori

Professor of Italian and Comparative Literature, Department of Italian

Recognition of Excellence – Prof. Deborah Gray White

The 2020-2021 Outstanding Support Service to the Rutgers Graduate Community is awarded to:

Dr. Matthew Winkler

Assistant Dean for Advisement Dean, Graduate School of Education

A special shoutout to the GSA committees for doing a tremendous job in supporting graduate students during the last year:

GSA Mental Health Committee

GSA Health and Nutrition Committee

A big thank you to everyone who participated in this year’s awards. I would like to thank this year’s awards committee for their hard work: Nathanial Flores, Ashley Bernstein, and Sonal Gahlawat.

Congratulations again to our winners and honorees!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.